Whose pee is in my toilet?

April 10, 2008

A mere 24 hours after arriving back in the city and I already have a great story to share.

Last night, I went to see a Chorus Line. First time to a Broadway show. It was fantastic. I’d never seen it before and loved every minute of it. 2 hours of full on entertainment. There’s a reason musical theatre shows are sold out and opera isn’t….hmmm…that’s a post for another day.

Anyway, high on my entertainment experience, I walk into my apartment and proceed to go wash my hands in the bathroom. Upon turning on the light, I first noticed yellow water in the toilet and thought, “I coulda sworn I flushed that thing”. Then I noticed the seat was splattered with yellow water and thought, “What man has been using my toilet?” Mind you, this all took place within a matter of 5 seconds. I looked around to find that my ceiling and walls were bulging with water and dripping. The entire floor was wet and my bathmat completely soaked. I immediately ran to tell the super of the building. Poor guy wasn’t there because he was busy fixing the broken water heater. I found him, he came in and told me that the water heater was leaking and everyone in the building that lives on that wall has this same problem. Good news? It wasn’t pee. Bad news: no hot water, I was getting dripped on, and I couldn’t walk in my own bathroom without rain boots. So at 11:30, I pack my bags and go stay at my friend’s place.

So the saga with my bathroom continues. I didn’t even bother to write back in February about the huge, gaping whole in my ceiling that wasn’t fixed for over week which then allowed Texas sized cockroaches into my apartment. That was fun, too. I think I’m going to negotiate my last month’s rent, which, thankfully, will be May.

2 Responses to “Whose pee is in my toilet?”


  1. I am so glad that you are able to find humor in these situations. I guess there’s no other way to live through it all and come out a sane person unless you do. 🙂


  2. […] have a fascination with toilets and things that go in toilets (for other posts on the subject click here, here, here, here, here, here. (Holy you-know-what, I write a lot about this stuff)) I know, I […]

Leave a Reply

