I love ice cream!

June 22, 2008

Princeton is a small, quaint, gorgeous Northeast town. Because it is a college town, it’s actually pretty happening for such a small population. Being a college town, you’d expect bar after bar and club after club. But that is not the case. Instead of bars, this place has had an explosion of ice cream shops. It’s like the ice cream mob showed up and decided this would be where they would run their operations. While in most towns there is a Starbucks on every corner, in Princeton, there is an ice cream shop. On the main drag alone, which is about half a mile, you will find Ricky’s, Thomas Sweet, the Bent Spoon and some other place that I don’t know the name of, all I know is that the ice cream is good.

Now, I’ve always been an ice cream lover. Even though we were dirt poor, somehow we always had ice cream in the house for dessert. This Summer, though, ice cream is bringing me much more joy than any other time in my life. Why? Well, I think it may have something to do with the fact that most days I start rehearsals at 10am and end at 10pm with a couple hours break squeezed in. I think it also has something to do with the fact that I am constantly walking in 90 degree weather or that I’m practicing in a room that claims to have air conditioning, but let’s face it…it’s the Northeast. They haven’t quite figured out the whole air conditioning thing yet. And perhaps it also has something to do with the fact that the combination of heat, excessive physical activity and tons of singing makes my throat feel swollen by the end of the day. Nothing like a little ice cream to bring soothing relief!

So what’s my favorite ice cream in Princeton? Due to the unfortunate fact that I have a sugar allergy, I am limited in my selections, but I have scoped all the joints and have found that Thomas Sweet Sugar Free Vanilla is the best in town. My sugar eating friends say the Bent Spoon is the best, so if you are not prohibited by dietary restrictions, I’d give them a shot, too. Either way, you will not be disappointed by the ice cream mob of Princeton.

Leave a Reply

