Livin’ it up in Detroit

August 27, 2008

This evening I find myself in the Motor City. This is the first time I’ve been here since clearing out my brother’s apartment after his death last August. Definitely some tough feelings to deal with. But I am here auditioning for Michigan Opera Theatre tomorrow, so the trip is worth it and one that Chris would be stoked about.

So my posts yesterday focused on being tired and not getting paid. While all of that is still true today, at least some of that has been alleviated by some amazingly wonderful and generous friends here. Ted is the manager of the Detroit Athletic Club, which sits conveniently across the street from the opera company. So to make my life easier, he got me a room here (see above picture). This beautiful athletic club has been restored to it’s original beauty of 1915 under his leadership over the past 14 years. It’s lavish, elegant and breathtaking – more than I could’ve ever expected or asked of anyone.

This is one of those evenings when I am reminded of how blessed I am by people God puts in my life to give me a little pick me up in the midst of this hard career. Thanks Ted and Annie!

If you’re interested in seeing this place go here www.thedac.com

One Response to “Livin’ it up in Detroit”

  1. VeganDiva Says:

    Toi Toi Toi!

Leave a Reply

