Update: Sarsota

January 20, 2009

Well folks. I have arrived in Sarasota, Florida. It’s been a cold few days here – been all the way down into the 60’s. Whew. I’m not sure if I can handle it…

My access to internet has been sketchy, however, I have found a remedy, so you will be getting more regular updates (if I have a brain left after my horrendously long days).

The big news is that the opera company had yet to cast the cover (understudy) for Beppe in L’amico Fritz. I’ve been using one of his arias (songs) as an opener in my auditions as of late, so I sang it at Death by Aria (an evening where everyone in the program gets up and sings a little tune for each other) and in a master class with Maestro DeRenzi. And they gave it to me! I was floored. Literally speechless. So I am very excited about it. I’m working on it feverishly as rehearsals begin next Tuesday for it. It’s an incredible opportunity and I am very thankful for it…and no, my dear friends, you may not pull a Tonya Harding on the girl singing the role…geez…the fact I would even have to tell you…tsk, tsk.

One Response to “Update: Sarsota”


  1. Well, I will miss your entertaining NYC stories for the next few months, but I am sure weird and interesting things also happen in Sarsota. Congrats on your new role!

Leave a Reply

