My Big Birthday

February 13, 2009

It’s always a little hard to have birthdays away from family and friends. (It was the 11th) Even though I don’t make a big deal out of it, secretly inside, I hope that everyone will somehow miraculously know without me telling them and that they will make a big deal out of it.  Yes, I am secretly narcissistic.

Being that I am in Sarasota, I didn’t expect much.  Well, my roommies had other plans.

I finally crawled out of bed at the late hour of 8:30 (that’s sleeping in for me now) since I had a late start at 11:30 (and only 6 hours of rehearsal!!! That was a present indeed).  I opened my door to find that I had been imprisoned by toilet paper and pink streamers…yes. Pink.  Can we get any more girly?  Upon my gasp, both roommates’ doors opened and their heads popped out with huge, girly smiles plastered on their faces.  I think I even heard a squeal from one of them (pretty sure it was Candra).  After tearing my way through, I found a clue taped to the mirror leading me to my present complete with a wax seal (we’ve become quite the fans of The Tudors, and have all decided that we really are living as Henry and Anne Bolyn as our monarchs.  We, of course, are members of the court).  Several clues led me to 2 books by my new favorite author, Jen Lancaster (her books are basically a collection of essays similar to my blog entries, though hers are much funnier, wittier and she’s making money at it). Naturally, since I have now confessed my narcissism, I love her.

The day continued with a birthday card overnighted by my husband with a Starbucks card (he’s learned well. Men, take note. You must do whatever it takes to get the gift to your wife on her birthday, anniversary, Christmas etc…even if you have forgotten to take care of it in a timely manner).  I also received some presents from my parents.

And just when I thought things could not get better, at the end of rehearsal for Don Carlos (for those of you who are not well versed in the opera world, Don Carlos was written by Verdi which equals big a** voices), the maestro cued up probably one of the loudest, most well sung “Happy Birthday” in the history of earth.  50 opera singers at once is quite impressive.

The night ended with a serving of gelato at Cafe Jolly before I put my tired, old head on my pillow.

3 Responses to “My Big Birthday”


  1. Sounds like you have some fun roommates!

    Oh, and you forgot to mention the oh-so-fabulous Hoops & YoYo card! 😉

    Glad you had a great day!


  2. awwww, that is so amazing.

    sorry i’m one of the jerks who had no idea. ilu.

  3. Mike Says:

    Just passing by.Btw, your website have great content!

    _________________________________
    Making Money $150 An Hour

Leave a Reply

