Oh Rats!

August 18, 2009

A New York First.

It’s Sunday morning. 7:30 am. I shouldn’t even be up, but alas I was getting off the subway. As I approached the turnstiles bleary eyed I noticed a movement out of the corner of my eye. I looked down just in time to see a rat come running out of a hole in the wall. Petrified (people, these things are like dogs up here), I froze and used all the rest of my energy to keep from screaming like a little girl (I may or may not have raised my arms in the air and/or begun jumping up and down hoping that my jumping would keep the varmint away). Fortunately for me, it worked. It ran about a foot in front of me and a guy to the right of me who chose not to use my mode of deterrence caught a leg full of rat. It ran up his leg a little before realizing it was going the wrong way. Falling backwards, rolling back onto its feet it tried again, headed over the guy’s foot before the guy gained his wits and kicked it out of the way.

After the shock wore of of me and all the others around, we all proceeded with our day as if nothing had occurred.

This place is weird.

2 Responses to “Oh Rats!”

  1. leanna jackson Says:

    ohh my. i’d have definitely chosen your method of deterrance, if that’s any consolation.

  2. Jen Says:

    Eww. The ones in Chicago get pretty large, too, and I used to be afraid to go in the back alley at night because I was afraid a rat would run over my shoe. :O

Leave a Reply

