Nazareth here I come…maybe?

September 5, 2009

I’ve neglected to blog about this. Again, I am remiss.

Many of you may already know that I have an opportunity to go to Nazareth, Israel with my church.

When announced, this trip immediately struck a cord deep within me. I have always had an unexplainable love and passion for the Jewish people. I have read extensively about their history up to modern day. The story behind the trip, how it came about and what will be accomplished, is largely what compels me to go on this particular trip.

Not quite a year ago our pastor, Jamie, was in Israel doing research on Jesus’ life. When he visited Nazareth he “happened” to meet two Christian, Israeli businesswomen who own a hotel in Nazareth and who also run an organization called The Zahra Foundation, which works with a local orphanage and helps with other needs in the community. They were needing some serious help – and in walked Jamie.

Our church has decided to working side by side with these ladies to help them. This trip is going to focus on helping in the orphanage and building a long-lasting relationship with the community. We plan to invest in Nazareth for a long time, and hopefully this will only the first of many trips I make.

So why the “maybe”? Well, this trip naturally costs money (a shade under $2300) and that’s something that Tim and I just can’t swing on our own. The first deadline for money was Friday, but they’ve extended it for me until Tuesday. The goal? $490. I’m really not worried about it. If this is a trip that I’m to take part in, then the money will appear, but I figured I’d just let all my readers know in case any of you would like to contribute! Contact me if you’d like to.

Leave a Reply

