My First 24 Hours

November 19, 2009

What a whirlwind! I have seen and experienced so many new things that it’s so hard to get it all written down. My brain is mush and I can’t quite get it all out! I’ve even managed to learn about 10 words of the language!

My room for now has a fantastic view of the city. From it I can see 5 Biblical sites. It’s amazing to read about something your entire life and then finally get to see it for yourself. I don’t have a cable right now to hook my computer up to my camera, but when I do, I will upload the pictures. It’s pretty fantastic.

The culture here is so incredibly different. It’s been a long time since I’ve traveled to a place where I know so little. There is so much I’d like to share, but that will have to wait until I am back home. It’s been exhilarating and exhausting at the same time.

One thing I can share is my experience on the flight. The experience beforehand was quite unbelievable and one that I will share in detail later, but suffice it to say it included a strip search. Think on that one for a bit. Anyway, I get on the plane to find a woman sitting in my aisle seat with an empty middle seat between her and her husband. She only spoke Hungarian and through puppy dog eyes and sign language tried to get me to sit between her and her husband. I calmly grabbed a flight attendant to double check my seat assignment. The woman was asked to move over, which she did, but the rest of the flight she leaned on and over the armrest between us. Being tired and cranky, I resorted to hitting her with my elbows as often as possible. When did I join Kindergarten again?

Leave a Reply

