I Peed at King David’s Tomb

December 3, 2009

David's Tomb - apparently the tomb is under the cloth


I knew that would get you! More on that later.

You know that Larson cartoon where the kid raises his hand in class and asks the teacher, “Can I be excused? My brain is full.” I felt like telling that to our guide at the end of each day. He was amazing. He’s the guy the Israeli gov’t goes to to give tours to people like, oh, Hilary Clinton, Condoleeza Rice, Tony Blair etc… He’s a walking encyclopedia.

Honestly, when I saw that we would be doing a few days of sightseeing, I was a little upset, because I came here to work. But after the tour, I see it was vital to be there and see and understand. Though, I am very glad I was in Nazareth a few days before touring with the group, because I got their perspective on life and on Israel. Jerusalem is a different world. Primarily Jewish, you get their perspective. And as a lover of political policy, I thoroughly enjoy hearing both sides.

The Upper Room


Back to peeing. One of the highlights of the day was the visit to The Upper Room where Jesus held the Last Supper. The Upper Room is located above what is believed to be the tomb of King David and also the same place believed by many to be the site of Pentacost. Well, by the time we got there, the coffee from breakfast had made it’s way through, and I was running into a minor emergency. And I quickly learned that Israel is very similar to Europe in it’s aversion to public restrooms. I figured I’d be up a creek for quite some time. But lo and behold, as we ascended the steps to the tomb, our guide announced that the “toilets” were around the corner…at David’s Tomb. Ya know, something just doesn’t seem right about peeing around the corner from the tomb of David. But, hey, when nature calls…

Me standing on the original stones - yes, I'm a geek


So anyway, back to the Upper Room. After seeing David’s tomb (which I say like it’s something nonchalant, when it was nothing of the sort. But if I were to write about absolutely everything in detail, we’d all be here at my blog for the next 10 years and considering I’d like to do something else in the next 10 years, I’ll keep it short.), we headed up the stairs to The Upper Room. The walls and ceiling are much newer – dates back a mere 1000 years to the time of the crusades, but the floor is original to the time of Jesus. Standing on those stones was incredibly overwhelming to me knowing that I was walking on the same stones that Jesus and his disciples walked on! I was in a place where God walked among us. I read about God walking among us in my posh, comfy bed in Nashville before I go to sleep at night, and it’s hard to really imagine what that means. But when you walk the same path that God walked, it’s quite overwhelming. Extremely humbling. A new perspective gained. One that will stay with me the rest of my life.

Leave a Reply

