If you get the right answer, you win

July 21, 2010

Guess where I am, and what I’m doing. If you guess correctly, you win…not sure what, but you still win.

It’s dark. It’s hot. I’m making my bed (as in getting the mattress out, putting sheets on etc…). I’m doing this all by flashlight. I see a couple bugs scurry by.

If you guessed camping, I would give you and A for effort, but alas, you would be wrong. I am actually in a New York apartment…in 2010.

Why, do you ask, am I “making” my bed by flashlight?

Well, this lovely building was built before WWII. And though it is 2010, the wiring has never been redone. So there are 3 air conditioners, a projector, a stereo system, refrigerator, lights etc… running off of two circuits. So we have now blown the circuit 3 times in the last 45 minutes. So now, we are unplugging things, moving things to different outlets, resetting the breaker in the basement, replacing the fuse in the apartment…oh yeah, and not turning on any lights.

So that leaves me with a little flashlight that randomly turns on and off because it is has a funky circuit, fuse, whatever…and I’m making my bed and brushing my teeth by a flashing flashlight.

Leave a Reply

