You can’t handle the truth

October 16, 2010

Well, unless your German (or Tom Cruise). Germans don’t seem to have an issue telling you the truth. If you say your hair looks bad, and it really does, they’ll agree and say, “Yeah, it looks pretty bad today.” If you have gained a few pounds, they will not miss a chance to let you know. But, on the other hand, they’ll also let you know if you’ve lost weight.

For example, I saw my friend’s parents for the first time in 10 years. I came into the room and said, “Hi! It’s so good to see you again!” and the first thing out of his mom’s mouth, “Wow! You’ve really lost weight!” I mean, I’m not going to complain about that, but still, how about, “hey good to see you, too” then mention that weight loss.

And then tonight we were looking at wedding pictures of the wedding I missed. And my wonderful German friends sat around and made remarks about everyone in the pictures. “Oh, she is so fat. I mean, very nice, but she is really fat” and “Ach, why did she wear that? No one would put that together. I would’ve worn this instead…oh but she is so nice” And then the best… my friend’s father said about his own daughter, “That’s not a good picture of her. I mean, she’s got a pretty face but her figure isn’t that great.”

Gotta love the Germans!

Leave a Reply

